special photo challenge: inspiration.

As a teenager, writing was the way I expressed my feelings without having to speak.  It was the tool I used to clear my head.  I almost always felt an immediate sense of relief after I put my thoughts on paper.  In this way, I was able to sort through them, and constructively speak my mind without “burning any bridges” with friends (and boyfriends.)

When my father died in 2010, I started my blog.  In the beginning, I wrote to help myself through the immense loss that I felt.  I felt better after I wrote about him, and sometimes to him.  As I began to write more often,  I was able to incorporate my love for photography into my posts.

I will forever be inspired by the wisdom my father shared with me.  I will forever feel comforted by the love that I know he felt for me from the moment I was born, and, as he said, even “before I was born.”  I hear him each time I publish a post.  He says, “Good for you ,Cal!”

May he and my photos continue to inspire me for a long, long time.  It is my hope that my writings will inspire others,  make people feel good about themselves, and to continue to spread the wisdom my father has left.

And so:

Here we are…

5 responses

  1. Couldn’t have said better. and your picture is truly beautiful too. Loosing my father when I was 15 made me realize how short life can be and how truly we have to enjoy it. Everything I’ve done since then was in memory of my father. They are the inspiration to do better, to be better.
    Thanks for putting words where I never could.
    Have a very inspiring week!
    Jul’

Leave a Reply

