A goodie.

17 years ago at this very moment I was about to be blessed with my first child.   The first time we looked at each other is an image forever imprinted in my memory.  On his belly, he looked up at me with big round eyes, barely able to focus, and his tiny fists clenched and ready to roll.  My first words? “Oh my God, Greg!  He’s cute!”  I did not know what to expect, especially the wonder that the last 17 years have brought.  I love you buddy.

Sunrise, Sunset

Is this the little girl I carried?

Is this the little boy at play?

I don’t remember growing older.

When did they?

When did she get to be a beauty?

When did he grow to be so tall?

Wasn’t it yesterday when they were small?

Sunrise, sunset

Sunrise, sunset,

Swiftly flow the days;

Seedling turn overnight to sunflowers,

Blossoming even as we gaze.

Sunrise, Sunset,

Sunrise, sunset,

swiftly fly the years;

One season following another,

Laden with happiness and tears.

~lyrics and music by Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock (Abridged version)

from The Daily Word, on the day he was born.  “We are welcomed with open arms and released with love.” 

4 responses

  1. I remember that so day well…all of Shane’s grandparents in joyful anticipation of his arrival..waiting in the hospital for the first opportunity to see him and hold him…what a wonderful moment …I don’t think any of us will ever forget…he’s been a joy for all of us and God blessed this whole family when Shane arrived…love you, honey…you truly are the best!

Leave a Reply

