six smiles

I can not tell a lie.  My favorite season of the year is drawing to a close, and I am not happy about it.  I like to think of Autumn as a mini extension of Summer because the weather in New England is still usually very nice, but when the leaves begin to change color, I admit it – I feel melancholy.  September is always a beginning: new schools (4 different ones this year,) new teachers, new schedules.  September is also an ending:  the end of carefree mornings and lazy summer evenings, no more sleeping in for my children (I love it when they sleep!)  This is the month I  “fly by the seat of my pants” and stay ready for whatever comes my way.  Fortunately, the first days of school went smoothly, and I had no problem finding some smiles!

One of the last photos I snapped in Los Angeles on the day we left.  I love these cars, and I saw so many in L.A.!  It may be the Scooby Doo “Mystery Machine” memories that they bring back. I always wanted to ride in that van!

Tea, tea, and more tea! Urth Caffe– a great memory.

sent to me from a wonderful friend we visited in Manhattan Beach.  A keeper!

Choosing backpacks for my girls.  Texting iPhone photos like this one, checking pocket space, guessing what all the bells and whistles are for!

My high school freshman is off!  (Nervous, but off!)

A review of “Chaplin the Musical” from Silent Comedian Magazine.   We are so happy and proud to be going to Broadway on opening night!!  My husband’s first cousin wrote the music and lyrics and has been working for years on this project.

“WOW, WOW, WOW, OH WOW!!!Yesterday, my wife and I had the great pleasure of seeing “Chaplin the Musical” on Broadway.I went into the show with high expectations…they were far exceeded than anything I could have imagined.”Chaplin the Musical” details Charlie’s life from a boy in the streets of London till his triumphant return to Hollywood at the Academy Awards in 1972.Being so familiar with the story of Chaplin, I wondered if I was more detached from the story would I like it more.
Believe me, with all I know about Chaplin, the story in the way it was told was still compelling.
Of course, every detail cannot be included in a play, but I was amazed at the depth of material that was included.The moment when Charlie assembles his floppy shoes, bowler hat, cane and mustache, then turns to the audience as the Charlie we know and love, brought a gasp,
followed by huge round of applause.
It was a magical moment in a show that had many magical moments.

I enjoyed the Keystone scene with Mac Sennett trying to teach Charlie to be funny. The “Sennett Song” was fantastic and even ended with a pie in the face.

The play recounted the contracts with Essanay, Mutual and First National and his errr…dabblings with young women.

I particularly enjoyed the relationship of Charlie and Sidney. There were some tense moments between them in between the songs and comic bits.

Charlie’s relationship with his mother Hannah is a theme throughout…
The feature films are discussed as well.

Towards the end, we see Charlie meeting Oona. The back and forth between them was very cute. You could just sense, this is the woman he’s waited for all his life.

There were a few liberties taken in the play which the writer discusses in the Playbill, but they are not glaringly bad that it would offend any Chaplin fan.

There was a great, great scene with Chaplin trying to impersonate Hitler. I don’t want to go into detail, but what follows was so brilliant it brought a massive round of applause.

I want to stress if you’re a Chaplin fan or a fan of silent comedy, you’ll love this musical, but even if you don’t know thing one about silent comedy you’ll love it.
While outside, a man and woman were walking and noticing the crowds. The gentleman looked to the marquee and asked someone “How was it”?
The man responded “It was fabulous.” I couldn’t agree more.

Let’s talk about the cast…they were great. We were treated to all of Charlie’s wives, Mack and Mabel, Rollie as well as Alf Reeves and Hedda Hopper,
whose song was one of the highlights of the night.

But of course I have to talk about the actor who portrays Charlie. His name is Rob McClure.

Let me say with all honesty, and this is coming from someone who totally loves Chaplin…Rob was absolutely BRILLIANT in the role.
He did some knockabout Keystone falls and generally moving about the stage where you were in awe of the sheer physical demands of the role.

Needless to say, they were all done to perfection.

He sang some great songs and had some great quiet scenes where his acting was top notch.
Being so close to the stage, those scenes, where we can see his face up-close really made those moments more special.

We see some clips of Rob recreating some famous Chaplin scenes. I thought it was funny, that they played two actual Chaplin clips from “PayDay” and “The Gold Rush.”
During the play, my wife kept whispering to me. “Is that Rob or Charlie”? I heard from audience members who couldn’t tell as well.

One of the songs Rob sings towards the end of the play as an older “Limelight” Chaplin brought down the house.
It was a song with such emotion, that it perfectly captured what Chaplin was going through during that time in his life.

After seeing many plays on Broadway, I’ve never waited to see the performers after the show.
Well, we waited just to show our appreciation for Rob channeling Charlie to provide us with such a wonderful experience.

We waited and finally told Rob how much we enjoyed his performance in bringing Charlie to life.
He was very kind and appreciative and a natural with all the fans. It was a great day for all.

I’m not including everything we enjoyed yesterday. I’d love for you to discover these gems that are sprinkled throughout the play on your own,

but needless to say it was a very, very special day for us.

RUN, DON’T WALK TO GET TICKETS!!!”

-from SilentComedian.com

Here’s to a happy and peaceful September!
2 responses

Leave a Reply

