Daytrippin’: Newport, RI

Misty, gray weather could not take away from the majestic beauty of the mansions along the Cliff Walk in Newport.  The white sky worked to our advantage, as we could make out every detail of these architectural wonders of The Gilded Age.  If you visit Newport, be ready to give your imagination a workout.  We imagined that my daughter (14) could have sprawled out on rolling greens and read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, (her required summer reading,) published in 1876.  She does not like to read at all, so we thought a little atmosphere may have helped her.  My little “reader” (12) would have chosen Little Women and been very content lounging in one of the interior bedrooms.  We chatted about being served fresh fruit for breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lawn and the ocean, if we would have “played” with our neighbors (comment from my little man – 9), and imagined being “courted” by a gentleman. (that was my thought)  I realized that I had left my camera at home when we were halfway there, so iPhone photos had to suffice.  Rain cut our trip a bit short, but my daughter wants to go back…to see the interior of The Breakers.  (On a sunny day!)

~Hence, the term “CLIFF Walk”~

~her interpretation of Rose from Titanic, with my husband as Jack.  Not quite as romantic as the movie scene!~

Just a peek

Inappropriate attire for a late 1800’s soiree!

~3 of my 4 children as usual.  16-year-old boys don’t like to travel with the rest of the family.~

There is so much more to see and do in historic Newport, it’s a must visit place.  Spend a night at one of the Inns and take your time strolling around.  Add it to the list!

One response

  1. I wonder if Greg remembers the trips we took there. Such lovely little cottages! I’m with Emma, “Little Women” is just the right book. Great pictures even if it’s with your I-phone.

Leave a Reply

