I’ll have a run. “On the rocks,” please.

There is a stretch of road about 3 miles long in Gloucester, MA that becomes part of my summer running route.  The road is aptly named Atlantic Avenue, and boasts an incredible ocean view.

View from my run

This part of my world is also named Bass Rocks for reasons that will soon be evident to you.  I excitedly had my mother drop me off far from our little home on Good Harbor Beach so I could run my first beach run of Summer 2012.  Curious thing happened as a was running along.  I saw this:

rock tower

Cool, right?  Well, I didn’t think too much of it, until a bit later I saw this:

more rock towers

“OK.” I thought, “This is kinda funny.”  Sure enough…this was next up…

can you see it?

A bit father out than the rest.  At this point  I was laughing out loud.  It was then that I decided to turn around and take photos of the first rock towers I passed.  After all,  someone really devoted a lot of his/her time to this bit of artistic expression, and it begged to be shared with the world!

Not over yet!  Look closely at the next photo:

2 more!

These are a bit difficult to distinguish because of the rocks in the background, but there were 2 more rock towers!  Sadly for me, these were the last two that I could spot, but I enjoyed staring out into the rocks searching for more.  Nicely done, anonymous artist!  Bravo!

Alas, my sightseeing was not over.  I still has things to see along this run, such as:

a new beginning.

and

a sad ending.

Until I reached my destination:

Good Harbor Beach

At which point I ran along the sand, people watching, and chuckling to myself.  Quite an interesting run “on the rocks!”

~ ’till next time.

**p.s.  as I previewed this post I realized that the first photo in it (which I shot just for the heck of it) captured yet another rock tower!!!  Look closely.  Love it!

Leave a Reply

