People watching. An observation.

“When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go…”

~Jenny Joseph

My visit to Florida made up for its brevity with the refreshing beauty of the golf club I was a visitor at.  I walked to the fitness center  every day and soaked in the bit of Utopia that I was fortunate to have been blessed with.  Architecturally beautiful homes, crystal clear blue skies, vibrant flowering plants…and the friendliest people I can remember in a long time, ringing their bicycle bells as they passed you with a hearty “Good Morning!”

However…

I made an observation.  Are you on the edge of your seat yet??…Is there an unwritten rule that women over a certain age…lets say 60 or so…have to wear pastel colors?  It was my observation that this rule just might exist.  I sincerely hope that I will be blessed with the gift of growing old, filled with wisdom to share, but I have to admit that I am a bit afraid of the fashion choices awaiting me.

pastels

I made my observation while I was running on the treadmill, looking out over the manicured greens of the course.  One after another the women would drive by in their golf carts wearing peach, mint green, pale pink, light blue, pale yellow, etc. There was no apparent reason for these color choices.  There were no signs saying, “No bright colors allowed on the course.  They may distract the golfers.”  Nothing like that.   Then my thoughts wandered.  Perhaps I had discovered why so many times people  refer to elderly men and women as “cute.”  Like they are babies or something.  Maybe it’s the pastels!

It’s just a thought, and it’s just my thought.  I mean no offense to these seemingly very friendly people.  Being referred to as cute is not a bad thing I guess.  I’ll take it… along with being interesting, and maybe even a little eccentric and unpredictable.  Although I think that pastel colors do look nice on men and women whose hair has turned white with age, so does navy blue and kelly green and hot pink, and of course…purple!

My mother in law told me that when her father would spend winters on Florida’s flat terrain he would say, “Sometimes I just ache for a hill!”  Well Papa, this one’s for you…This week I just ached for a color!  (like this: )

Tangerine Tango! Pantone Color of the year 2012

3 responses

  1. excellent observation…….made me chuckle as a friend of mine was recently trying on dresses for my sons wedding. She said she put on an orange dress and when she looked in the mirror she said ” I looked like a big fat tangerine!” So maybe pastels don’t bring attention to those areas of our body that haven’t aged gracefully!

Leave a Reply

