through the eyes of Hope

“Carolyn is riding the ‘crest of a wave.'” said Mrs. Lowry to my mother.  She was my 4th grade teacher, and gave me that compliment that I still chuckle with pride about today.  My 14-year-old daughter Hope is doing today what I did so many years ago.  At her wave’s inception she was forming relationships with girls which have blossomed into special friendships.  The road through middle school is bumpy, with twist and turns that can throw a young girl into emotional turmoil.  We were not immune to some of these bumps, but Hope worked her way through with dignity.  (and the help of some books that I will share with you.)  There were misunderstandings between friends, the loss of a wonderful grandfather, athletic competition, and changing bodies to deal with.  As Hope nears the completion of 8th grade, she is riding the crest of her own wave.  A role model for the younger students in the school (one of whom is her sister Emma,) Hope meets each day with vigor, drive and charisma – along with a great laugh and smile.  She will meet the shores of a new land called high school, knowing that she is ready for the challenges that lie ahead.

Hope had my camera for a while, and I came across the pictures that she had taken. I am sharing this gallery of photos taken by my daughter with her friends.  I smiled a smile from deep within myself as I viewed the bits of life that make up the world of my 14-year-old girl.  What she finds beauty in, or thinks is cool, or finds amusing…are really very simple.  Through the eyes of Hope, life looks pretty good!  And that makes me happy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Who you were three years ago is not necessarily who you are today. And who you are right now is not necessarily who you will be in three years.  But along the way, God has been doing very specific things inside of you to help you become the woman you will be one day.”

~Growing up Without Getting Lost: Discovering Your Identity in Christ by Melissa Trevathan and Sissy Goff

Book List:

The Care & Keeping of YOU.  The Body Book for Girls– American Girl Library

a smart girl’s guide to friendship troubles- American Girl Library

Ready, Set, Grow!- Lydna Madaras

Getting to Know the Real You- Harriet S. Mosatche, PH.D. and Elizabeth K Lawner

Cliques, Phonies, & Other Baloney (Laugh and Learn)- Trevor Romain

First Moon- Maureen Theresa Smith

Period. :A Girl;s Guide- JoaAnnLoulan, Bonnie Worthen

4 responses

Leave a Reply

