weekly photo challenge “peaceful”

God’s Dark

The Dark is kind and cozy,

The Dark is soft and deep;

The Dark will pat my pillow

And love me as I sleep.

The Dark is smooth as velvet,

And gentle as the air,

And he is good to children

And people everywhere.

The Dark can see and love me

Without a bit of light.

He gives me dreams and resting,

He brings the gentle Night

God made the Dark, so Daytime

Could close its tired eyes

And sleep awhile in comfort

Beneath the starry skies.

The Daytime, just like children,

Needs rest from work and play,

So it can give us children

Another happy day.

God made the Dark for children

And birdies in their nest.

All in the Dark,  He watches

And guards us while we rest.

– John Martin

I read this poem to my faith formation class a few years ago.  While I was reading, the normally talkative and quite busy class became eerily calm and quiet.  The children loved the way this poem made them feel so much that poetry reading became a part of our regular class time together.  I love the words and calming rhythm of this passage, and this would make a great poem to read at bedtime, especially to little ones who are a bit afraid of the dark!

Peace.

One response

Leave a Reply

